Skip to content
March 4, 2010 / littlefooteslab

Gardening morning

I am feeling very lucky today.

Which reminds me – I bought a lottery ticket yesterday, I should see if I’m a millionaire.

I can’t remember the last lotto ticket I bought.

The reason I am feeling so lucky today is because a friend of mine is a master gardener and she is having me over this morning, in just a little while, to split some small starter plants off her awesome established plants for my beginning garden!

What a wonderful way to get a garden going!  I have big plans this spring for the rectangle of land I own. The list is long and some things are going to cost a bit of money.  Some things are not going to cost anything. Somethings are going to cost a soreness in my back.  BUT.  Soon, I will have an area that is worthy of hanging out in.  An area that is fun to have friends over for bbqs.

okay.

here’s what I want to do. in no particular order. and it’s not necessarily everything, it’s just whatever i can think of right now 2/3 mug of coffee into the day.

-paver or gravel patio

-wood structure to support wisteria

-rototill areas for planting

-vegetable garden

-shade garden

-flowers!

-who cares about the lawn?  well, i’ll maintain what I have and not worry too much about the lumpiness and the weediness.

-trees , for shade and structure. this will take a while to grow in, but I can get them planted this year.  And did you hear that the city of portland will reimburse up to $50 for select trees???  I’m totally going to do that.

-compost bin  – right now it’s just a heap it tends to migrate out as the summer progresses.

-fence / gate on east side of house.

what else?  that’s kind of a lot.  anyone feel like helping?  I’ll grill you up some tasty dinner as a thank you! Have you ever had my grilled fajitas?????  YUM YUM!

tootle-loo!  I am off to get ready for gardening!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Mar 4 2010 8:32 am

    Perhaps we can combine efforts!

Leave a Reply

