Skip to content
March 31, 2010 / littlefooteslab

new fence and gate part one

Danny and Dad came over today to help me with a new fence and gate for my side yard.  It was a lot of work (mostly for them) but we got a lot done today and will be able to wrap everything up in a few hours next week after the posts have had a chance to set all the way.

here are some photo highlights. . .

pile o' wood

bags o' cement

I didn’t manage to get a photo of the pile o’ hardware, but trust me, it was impressive.

the work site

more on next page……

hole

I guess the ground in this area was really easy to dig, so the post holes ended up being really tidy.  I am lucky to have Danny and my Dad helping me, not that I am incapable, but it is a lot easier to have someone else do it! (plus I hurt my back a bit last week and need to take it easy, digging post holes = not taking it easy)

workin'

new arbor

part one done!

Not shown are the two gates that Danny framed.  I’ll have one that is 3 feet wide and one that is 7 feet wide.  they’ll open together to allow a truck to get into the backyard.  It will be handy for all the backyard driving I do.

I guess the plan is to let to posts set up really well for a week or so and then hang the gates and finish it off.  Yippy!  I am happy to have so much of this project done.

Thank you Uncle Sam for the first time homebuyers tax credit for funding this little home improvement project!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Mar 31 2010 9:11 pm

    Love the arbor! Sammie would REALLY love it!

    I can vouch for the fact that you’re supposed to be on light duty due to a back injury! Making sandwiches and getting cold pop is hard enough!

    • littlefooteslab / Mar 31 2010 9:18 pm

      wow! I did get a lot of sodas today! :)

      • moma / Apr 1 2010 5:01 am

        You have to keep fuel in those workin’ machines!

  2. Dan Foote / Mar 31 2010 10:03 pm

    Good times :) The best part was the weather mostly holding out for us

    • moma / Apr 1 2010 5:00 am

      Dan, your Pop said you did an awesome job! : ) No surprise but nice to hear.

  3. Mol / Apr 1 2010 11:17 am

    Amazing job, Foote clan!

    • littlefooteslab / Apr 2 2010 4:48 pm

      thanks Mol! I hope you come over lots this summer and enjoy all the fenced in goodness of the back yard!!!!

  4. Jean / Apr 5 2010 1:54 pm

    Hey there,

    You go girl! It is wonderful havin’ those Foote men in your life… Looks like you’re getting lots done.

    Cute stuff you are making, could that be my brothers baby picture?

    Love ya,

    Aunt Jeanne

Leave a Reply

