Skip to content
April 6, 2010 / littlefooteslab

water

I’ve been thinking about water lately.

It’s been fun planning my garden and preparing to get all my plants in the ground and contemplating different strategies for keeping them watered through the summer (drip irrigation, walking around with the hose, etc.) and what this will mean for my water bill.

I have heard that water fees are on the rise.  maybe doubling this summer??!!!

Please tell me I’m wrong on that.

It makes me question the intelligence of growing my own veggies.  . . .  naw, I’m still going to do it. It’s about more than just the food.

ok. get ready for a slightly gross, maybe, depending on how you look at things, thought.

SO, I’ve been more aware of my water usage in the house.  One of the big things is showering every day.  I really like to.  But, I really don’t get very dirty most days. Especially if I am just working in the studio. And, even if I do feel the need to shower every day, maybe I can wash my hair less often.

When I lived in Italy, we (the students in my program) were encouraged to live as Italians, and that meant not showering every day, maybe only a couple of times a week.  Due to various reasons, the Italians are very aware of water use and it is just a part of their habit to not waste water all the time.  The strategy was to use a talcum powder in your hair on days that you didn’t shower to absorb some of the oil, until, after a week or two, your body produces less oil as it adjusts to not needing to replenish every day.

Then it got really hot towards the end of my stay and I felt stressed so I started showering every day any way.

It was more difficult to change that habit than it would seem.

So, now, I am into my second week of not showering every day.  I have been showering every other day.  I feel like my hair always looks oily. I hate that. I still have the talcum powder that I bought in Italy (amazingly) and have been using that on non shower days.

Have any of you tried to “live as the Italians live” and not shower every day?  What strategies did you find useful to get through the transition? Is this totally gross to you? Are you going to stop hanging out with me now? Have I crossed the line?

I really don’t think it’s such a big deal, but I am aware that some people may find it odd.

Either way, Americans use way more than our fair share of water (kinda hard to imagine give the rainy rain rain NW that I live in) and it would be wise of us to conserve.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Apr 6 2010 2:19 pm

    While camping, I found I could take an effective shower with 2 to 3 gallons of water. The air was cold and the water warmish. There was no point in lingering.

    I suppose that would be very easy to duplicate at home. I wonder if I’d see a difference in the water bill if I tried 2 gallon showers for a month. I’ll think about it prior to making a commitment!

  2. moma / Apr 6 2010 5:30 pm

    Yes, cold is a possibility, especially when camping. I may indulge in 2 full gallons of almost hot water when testing this notion at home.

Leave a Reply

