Skip to content
April 23, 2010 / littlefooteslab

good deals on plants

Yesterday, my mom and I went shopping for a few things for our gardens.  We went to Farmington Gardens first, which I love, but they did not have everything we were looking for.  We headed back towards Hillsboro and stopped at Home depot, which is kinda lame, we didn’t get anything there.  Then we went to Bi-Mart where we found awesome deals on plants.

They have a great selection right now and are a locally owned company.  The plants at the Hillsboro store were from Iwasaki Brothers Nursery, which is right down the road from the store.  It can’t get much more local.  The things I bought are doing well so far, it’s only been a day, but I’ll keep you posted.  I have a really good feeling about the garden this year.

I am really trying to be more local in the food I buy, finding plants sourced from a local company is a great step.  In a few weeks, when I just walk out back and harvest my dinner, I will be very happy.

Next time you are looking at plants, read the label to see where it was grown.  Many are grown nearby, so there is really no good reason to buy anything brought in from out of the area.  We vote with our dollars!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Apr 24 2010 3:21 pm

    10 cents per pansy – how much better could it be? It was as Bi Mart heaven (which is like Nordstrom purgatory)!

Leave a Reply

