Skip to content
May 10, 2010 / littlefooteslab

5 blogs I can’t live without. (alternate title, blogs I read everyday and really like) (second alternate title: I am really bad at picking a top 5)

So, this month, I am doing a blog-a-thon which means I am posting everyday and there are a few theme days.  Today is one of them.  The theme is “5 blogs I cannot live without.”

This is a hard one because I read a lot of blogs.  I suppose it’s true that there are only a few that I really like and actually none that I can literally not live without, so with a little bit of focus, I should really have no trouble at all whipping up this post for you.  These are in no particular order. . .  (I’ve used the tag-line from each blog when available to give you an idea of the content)

1. smitten kitchen : Fearless cooking from a tiny kitchen in New York City.

2. Cooking Up a Story : is an online television show and blog about people, food, and sustainable living.

3. Joy the Baker : is a self taught/ family taught/ taste buds taught baker.

4. Grasping for Objectivity in my Subjective Life : awesome mom in Alabama.  (my description)

5. The Pioneer Woman : Ploughing through life in the country. . . one calf nut at a time.

6. Posie Gets CozyWhere I blather on endlessly about life, love, and all things crafty.

7. Scoutie Girl : the blog with the penchant for the passionately handmade

8. Shim and Sons : my online journal – – wife, mother and designer of handmade + stationery goods.

9. Shiso Mama : wonderful crafts, thoughts, and kids. (my description)

10. Splatgirl Creates : where I  talk about the things I’m constantly thinking about : food, interior design, craftyness, and my dog.  Because what else is there?

11. Tea and Cookies : food – stories – recipes

12. Whatever : craftyness, kiddos, polka-dots, lots of color, lots of attitude (my description)

13. not martha : Right now I’m baking cobbler in jars, making felt flower corsages for Mother’s Day and watching our Canary Bird vines grow.

14. Decor8 : is dedicated to sharing honest opinions, fresh decorating ideas, beautiful interior spaces, independent art and design, products and services, and articles meant to inspire readers to live a more fulfilling, authentic and creative life.

15. Design Milk : Design Milk is an online magazine dedicated to modern design. Our goal is to bring you what’s fresh and new in art, architecture, interior design, furniture and decor, fashion, and technology.

16. design*sponge : Design*Sponge is a daily website dedicated to home and product design run by Brooklyn-based writer, Grace Bonney.

17. Shelterrific : where people who love their homes click

18. Swissmiss : Swissmiss is a design blog and studio run by Tina Roth Eisenberg, a ‘swiss designer gone NYC.

19. Blogtown : the Portland Mercury blog.  Local news and current events.

20. NPR – Blog of the Nation : From Talk of the Nation

Okay, this is a lot.  I keep up with others, but don’t, for one reason or another, find them quite as meaningful.  I like these blogs for different reasons, and there are probably others I like just as well, but this is a pretty good sampling of what I look at everyday.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel @ Grasping for Objectivity / May 12 2010 1:17 pm

    Thanks for the shout-out! I never realized I was the only blog without a tag-line. I used to have one but it was STUPID, so I trashed it. I wonder if my lack of tag-line is affecting me in any other way except making you make a tag-line up for me….which makes me wonder – can I use THAT as my tag-line and just say it’s a quote from a reputable source? :)

    • littlefooteslab / May 12 2010 2:18 pm

      I love your blog, Rachel! As I said before, you had me at Meat Bouquet, or whatever that was called. I’d be honored if you used my made up tag line! : )

Leave a Reply

