Skip to content
May 12, 2010 / littlefooteslab

Blue House Cafe and Brewery

One of my favorite restaurants is in Vernonia, Oregon.  Sort of between Portland and the coast.  It’s a tiny town in the coast range that has historically been a logging community.  I certainly didn’t expect to find the best Mediterranean food around here.  The Blue House Cafe and Brewery.  Basically everything I’ve had here has been amazing.  The soups – always homemade and always delish.  The gyros – super good.  Loaded with fresh veggies, lots of delicious meat, and fantastic sauce.  The desert case – mouth watering.  I have never had dessert here though because I always eat way too much prior to dessert time.  Also, at the cafe is a brewery.  They had four options this time – a Porter, an IPA, a Red, and something else that I cannot remember.  I’ve had the Red and enjoyed it.  Next time I am there and not the DD, I will try the Porter.

Danny and I went to the Cafe recently (the day before the pirate barge launch).

I had the Gyro with the beef/lamb meat option (They also offer chicken.  It comes with a scrumptious pomegranate sauce)  We both had the house lemonade, it was the perfect accompaniment to the rich food.

oops. I took a few bites before I remembered to snap a photo for you.

Danny ordered the Gyro Platter, which is very similar to the Gyro sandwich that I had but it’s disassembled and also includes homemade hummus and a salad.

Oops, I ate Danny's tomatoes and olives from his salad already. Yum!

It’s a safe bet and a real gem in Vernonia.  I thought about not mentioning it here, because I don’t want you all to flock there and make it more difficult for me to eat there, but then I decided that the family that runs the place would probably be happier if I spread the word.

Character inside

The Blue House Cafe, 919 Bridge Street, Vernonia, OR 97064
(503) 429-4350‎
Mon Closed
Tue 10am 8pm
Wed 10am 8pm
Thu 10am 8pm
Fri 10am 8pm
Sat 10am 8pm
Sun 10am 4pm
They don’t have a website up yet, but trust me, go for a drive, see the beautiful scenery of Northwestern Oregon, and have a wonderful meal!
See you there!
One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / May 12 2010 9:06 pm

    I LOVE this place, too! Let’s go!

Leave a Reply

