Skip to content
May 14, 2010 / littlefooteslab

soakin’ the garden

This year, I am growing my first ever big garden.  I prepped the area, started some seeds, bought some plants, and have planted it almost completely.  It’s been a lot of work.  I think watering the plants and keeping the weeds at bay will be the main maintenance activities this summer.  I have been thinking quite a bit this spring about water use and I am trying to think of ways to most efficiently water my garden.  The option I am using this year will be setting out soaker hoses with hand watering certain areas that either need more water or cannot be reached by the soaker hose.

Getting the hoses to lay flat and in the location that I want them is kind of a pain.  Luckily my dad is a clever guy and suggested the following strategy.  I love it.  It’s simple, it’s reuse, it’s flexible, it’s. . . well, what more do you need?  It’s great!

start with a pile of wire coat hangers

and a bunch of soaker hose

clip the hangers so that you have V's

you're going to need a lot of them

Squeeze the sides together a bit and stake down the hose in the desired location

push it all the way into the soil

say "Hello" to Mr. Gnome

repeat staking down process all through the garden

let 'er rip . . . er. . . weep!

That’s it.  Easy and efficient.  Now, all summer, I’ll be watering just the areas that I need to and not all the areas that don’t need it.  Also, using the soaker hose cuts down on water loss to evaporation and run off compared to using a sprinkler.  Plants also benefit from this method of watering because they get a deeper watering, more concentrated on their roots.  Additionally, many plants stay healthier if their leaves are not watered, such as tomato plants.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brandy / May 14 2010 3:01 pm

    What a great idea to use the soaker hoses and the hangers to hold them down!! I hope your garden grows well and provides you with lots of goodies! Can’t wait to see photos when your garden gets going! :)

  2. Jessica / May 21 2010 7:00 am

    What a smart man your Dad is! I’m so trying this at home! Kudos.

Leave a Reply

