Skip to content
June 13, 2010 / littlefooteslab

compost!

I have had a busy several days, and many busy days coming up, but I took the afternoon out in the garden today, and I am glad I did.  I finally got around to building my compost bin.  It’s not quite done, but it’s a good start.  And it was such a gorgeous day, how could I stay inside!?

the beginning of the heap

The bin today

I ran out of the side boards, so I’ll need to round up more of those before I can call this project complete, but I got a great start on it today.  The tall post in the back left is going to be the new home of my Packy the Elephant wind vane.  I’m excited to have a good spot for it.  The heap was getting a little out of control, so it’s a good thing I finally got out there to make the bin.  Also, you can see the potatoes to the left of the bin, if I had waited much longer they would have been overtaking the heap area and it would have been difficult to dig the post holes.  Good thing the potato plants didn’t out run me, that would have been embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

