Skip to content
June 18, 2010 / littlefooteslab

Summit of Awesome wrap up

Well, the Summit of Awesome is over.  It was great, perhaps awesome is an adequate way to describe it.  I met a ton of truly awesome crafters, gathered a lot of great info about the crafting business, and even found inspiration and new ideas for things to make.  I really can’t complain.  I loved being at the Kennedy School, it’s such a great venue for a conference.  Although the occasional waft of chlorine from the soaking pool was a little odd, it was great to have a flexible and funky place for all the crafters.  I think it showed Portland in a good light for those out of towners that attended, we had many people from the Chicago area, Colorado, as well as all over the East coast in addition to the Portland and Pacific Northwesters (Including Vancouver BC Canada!).  Fun!  : )

Last night was a fun party at Land, the store front for the online shop BuyOlympia.com.  I really enjoyed seeing behind the scenes of this very cool, grassroots store as well as having a chance to mingle with the crafty folk.  There was a small amount of time to get to know people during the days of the summit, but the real chunk of the get to know you time was at the welcome party Wednesday night and this party at Land Thursday night.  It was low key but fun and it seemed like everyone was just there to meet people and get to know the community.  In fact, this may be one of the highlights of the Summit; getting to know people in this community.  Even as I was leaving I was chatting with a couple of West side crafters about staying in touch and getting together soon to . . . bbq . . . make crafts. . . take over the world.  Sounds good to me.  !!!

Today was filled with more learning sessions as well as opportunities to make something awesome, then a treat at lunch was the Craftnote speaker,  Mark Montano, he’s well known for his Big Ass Book of Craft series as well as being a tv personality.  I knew him best from the TLC (I think) show, 10 Years Younger, I think there is a new host now, but Mark was the host for a long time.

We took a class photo at the end of the day.  I really had a great time and learned a lot as well as had fun, so I’d say a pretty good end to a crazy week.  : )

I tried to get some photos to share with you guys, but I only snapped a few.  Here’s the best of the batch. . .

McMenamin's Kennedy School - our venue

summit of awesome crowd pt 1

summit of awesome crowd pt 2

clearly, my talent is not taking photos in a theater with my little point and shoot camera.  However, I wanted to show you how we filled up the space, well, not the first rows of chars, but we occupied most of the couches.  There were a lot of people there!

Here’s a bunch of photos from the Summit

and here’s a bunch more

It was a great three days and I recommend it to anyone considering attending next year.  Well worth the time and money.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Jun 20 2010 6:20 am

    beautiful venue – glad it was awesome!

  2. Rebecca / Jun 20 2010 10:22 am

    It was so much fun getting to be at the conference with you. We do need to get together to bbq and take over the world. (i mean make cool stuff) =)

    • littlefooteslab / Jun 20 2010 9:28 pm

      Yes! I am going to gather up emails of other local crafty peeps and try to get something together. It might start out as hanging out in my backyard sipping cheap wine from Trader Joe’s, but soon we will take over the world!!!

Leave a Reply

