Skip to content
July 12, 2010 / littlefooteslab

my current favorite summer salad

Okay, here’s what I’ve been eating a bunch of lately. . .

Dice up a fresh tomato, the juicier the better, chop up a handful of basil and some lettuce, both from the garden, then crunch up a bunch of pita chips, dice up a bit of mozzarella, throw it all into a bowl and drizzle with a dash of balsamic vinegar and a healthy amount of olive oil.  Toss it all together, add in some black pepper and salt.  Be a bit careful with the salt, my pita chips are already slated, so I usually only need to add a teeny bit.  Then let it all sit for a few minutes so the pita pieces can absorb the juices a bit.  Finally dig in!  It’s so good you guys!

Get creative with it.  Add in

  • snap peas
  • grilled chicken
  • swap feta for the mozzarella
  • add olives
  • spinach
  • roasted beets!

The possibilites are endless.  It’s starting with a Caprese (ka-pray-say) Salad combination and making it into a totally yummy but different type of thing. :)

I had Caprese Salad when I was here:

Here I am on the Island of Capri. Ah. It was so nice there! (and I was wearing capri pants)

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Jul 12 2010 4:45 pm

    what time do we eat?

  2. Jessica / Jul 12 2010 5:33 pm

    Now your talking….this sounds so yummy right now! I love a good summer salad. Thanks for sharing!

    • littlefooteslab / Jul 12 2010 5:37 pm

      It’s so good Jessica! I had it for lunch and I think I’ll make a slightly different version for dinner. : )

      Also, thanks for reading my blog! It’s fun being in touch with you again after so long. We used to have lots of fun together, hopefully we can meet up soon.

  3. Sarah Richard / Jul 14 2010 11:06 pm

    We should go to Italy someday and eat our way through the country!

Leave a Reply

