Skip to content
July 15, 2010 / littlefooteslab

Berry Fever

Have you ever had Berry Fever?  It’s very serious.  The only cure is to go out to a local farm and pick as many berries as you can.  I had Berry Fever all week.  I cured it today.  Well, cured for now anyway, it can come back in a flash.

I headed out to Bella Organic Farm this morning.  I found it through this handy site that lists all the U-Pick places around.  It was great.  I tried not to get too carried away because once they are picked, then I have to make them into something to preserve them, or eat them all right now, and that might make me sick.

So, I picked blueberries and strawberries.  Of course the blueberries were the easiest since there is not really any bending over involved.  The strawberries are back breaking work.  Once the bucket seemed full enough for a batch of jam, I got out of there, it was hot and hard work.  I know they will taste all the sweeter for it though.

my row

I'm ready to get picking!

the bushes were loaded with berries

bucket o' blues

Next up: strawberries!

I think I'll start in these nicely weeded rows! Also, look how beautiful it is here!

YUM! Fresh local berries are the BEST!

bucket o' berries!

this seems like a good start to my cure for Berry Fever

I want to make some jam out of each and freeze some berries for later.  I think I’ll also bake some into something tasty to share with a few friends tomorrow evening.  Maybe these muffins Jessica wrote about Monday.  What do you think I should make with my harvest?  Any ideas?

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Jul 15 2010 2:48 pm

    I suggest smoothies! Nutritious, little to no fat and yummy!

  2. Rebecca / Jul 15 2010 7:29 pm

    Yum! I vote for the cobbler/crisp! Great seeing you tonight!

  3. Sarah Richard / Jul 15 2010 11:29 pm

    I have to agree with the cobbler idea! And then maybe a smoothie to wash it all down with! :) Yum, berries!!

  4. Jessica / Jul 19 2010 7:33 am

    Katie, you are a total die-hard berry picker. Love it! Thanks for the link as well! :)

  5. Brandy / Jul 26 2010 10:03 pm

    Gorgeous berries! Love it!

Leave a Reply

