Skip to content
July 17, 2010 / littlefooteslab

Harvest update

Well, I decided to make strawberry jam, blueberry jam, canned blueberries in light syrup, and a blueberry peach crisp with my harvest.  I did all that yesterday, but I got busy and messy and didn’t get any photos and then the crisp got all gobbled up and now I want to go picking again and preserve a bunch more local stuff.  Turns out Berry Fever can turn into Canning Fever really easily.

Anyone want to come over and make it a party?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Jul 17 2010 10:24 pm

    Yes!

  2. Jessica / Jul 19 2010 7:35 am

    You are amazing! Do you have a recipe for the canned blueberries in light syrup? I’ve never done that before but it sounds wonderful!

    • littlefooteslab / Jul 19 2010 4:52 pm

      Well, I had never done it before either, but I love canned fruit, so I thought I’d give it a try. I just used the directions in the Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving.

      the light syrup is 2 1/4 cups sugar and 5 1/4 cups water. Boil to dissolve and keep hot. Then you just wash the blueberries and fill up your jars leaving 1/2 inch head room. Gently shake jar to pack berries in with out crushing. Then ladle in the syrup to cover berries leaving 1/2 inch head space. Remove air bubbles. Adjust two piece caps. Process pints 15 minutes, quarts 20 minutes, in a boiling water canner.

      The book says to use this method for all sorts of berries: blackberries, black raspberries, blueberries, currants, elderberries, huckleberries, red raspberries, etc.

      I haven’t tasted the canned blueberries yet, and honestly, they look kind of ugly, but I think they will taste good. How can they not? It’s just ripe berries in sugar water. : )

Leave a Reply

