Skip to content
August 8, 2010 / littlefooteslab

onion harvest! oh and artichokes too!

Last week Mom and Dad came over to help me in the yard in preparation for the Bridal Shower.  I was so glad for the help!  Just before they headed home, we harvested the onions. : )

Dad helping sort out the harvest of Walla Walla Sweet Onions. Thanks Dad!!!

This is a lot of onions!  They are tasty though.  Now, I know that to truly be a Walla Walla Sweet Onion, they must be grown in Walla Walla Washington.  Well, the starts I bought in the spring were called Walla Walla Sweet Onion Starts, so I think I can call mine that too.  I suspect that the rules mostly apply to commercial settings, but I am aware of all this onion sorting craziness, so I thought I’d mention it here so that I can stave off some of the hate mail.  (I haven’t ever gotten hate mail, but I want to sound important, so I am going to carry on like I have.)

Anyways!  I sent one home with Dad.  He sauteed it with some steak and made killer sandwiches, or so I heard, for dinner.  I have been enjoying them grilled, sauteed, caramelized, and probably some other ways.  I can’t have them raw though because raw onions trigger a migraine for me and several other of my family members.  It is lame.  Not worth the pain though, so I just cook ’em up and chow down!

Also I harvested the rest of the artichoke early last week.

bowl of artichokes!

These things are good.  I have several left in the crisper – I’m thinking dinner this week.  Yum!   Honestly, I didn’t expect to harvest much from the plant this year since I just planted it and I have heard the first year is usually not very productive, so I feel  like these are all bonus artichokes.  Extra Yum!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Aug 8 2010 11:09 pm

    that’s one sweet walla walla holdin’ the onions!

Leave a Reply

