Skip to content
August 14, 2010 / littlefooteslab

it’s a heat wave!

Yay!  Summer heat wave!  I should warn you that a heat wave in Oregon doesn’t have to get very hot in order to have a monopoly on the local evening news and the minds of the locals.  Some people say that talking about the weather is just a filler or just a neutral topic good for small talk, but in Oregon, I really think some people actually like to talk about the weather.  It’s just a theory.  But, I know it’s on a lot of minds one way or another most of the time.  Maybe it’s because we know that we must take advantage of every drop of sunshine so that when it’s cloudy for the other part of the year we won’t feel like we wasted any.   Drop of sunshine.  We think about all types of weather in drops.

Okay, so my original post was going to be about how, even though I am not made out of parts that do well in the heat (Hello there Heat Stroke, so nice to see you again) I really don’t FEEL like we’ve had summer until we get a heat wave.  The forecast from my dashboard app. doesn’t even go into the triple digits,

but some of the local meteorologists have been hyping 102 for Monday.  I think they do this so that people will tune in more.

Whatever.  I’m into it.  Especially since it’s probably not going to last too long.  It’s a fine line.  I want to feel the heat, but I don’t want to feel it too much.  Right?  Right.  We are a fickle people here in this little white house with a red door.

So, I thought I’d share a few of my I’m-an-Oregonian-and-don’t-have-a/c favorite tricks to stay cool.

  1. popsicles
  2. take a kitchen towel, make it damp, lay it flat in the freezer, once it’s frozen (this doesn’t take too long if you only get it slightly damp) take it out and drape it around your neck.
  3. iced coffee
  4. run through the sprinkler
  5. ice water
  6. eat popsicle while sitting in front of fan
  7. open windows at night with fans pulling cool air in, wake up early to close windows and blinds to keep hot air and sun out, then go back to bed.
  8. sleep in basement when house is too hot
  9. frozen grapes
  10. cool cucumber salad – I’ll post a recipe later (maybe)
  11. go to IKEA with a friend.  Sit in the displays as though it’s your own home until they close the store.
  12. do not eat heavy greasy food
  13. eat a ton of greasy food.  make it hot. make it heavy. make it plentiful.  I’m thinking dive in to the heat.  Fried chicken, baked beans, corn bread.
  14. do not turn on the oven
  15. cool shower
  16. go to the beach!
  17. go to the mountain!
  18. go to the lake!
  19. go to a friend’s house with a/c!
  20. be thankful for all the blessings in your life, keep in mind how rainy and cold and dreary and miserable Spring 2010 was.

Okay.  20!  Those were sort of shot from the hip, so to speak.  Do you have any tips to share with me?  I’d love to hear them!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Aug 14 2010 11:00 am

    keep the house cool all day so you can open the windows at night and sleep with all your blankets! heaven!

  2. Sarah Richard / Aug 14 2010 11:55 am

    Nick and I were actually cold last night because of all the cool being brought in from outside! It was lovely!

  3. Bill / Aug 16 2010 9:19 am

    I love this line: “We think about all types of weather in drops.” Definitely.

Leave a Reply

