Skip to content
August 28, 2010 / littlefooteslab

Carrot Cake Jam

Yep.  Carrot. Cake. Jam.  Yum!

Carrot cake flavor anytime.

I just had some on toast with butter.  It was delish.

I was inspired by this lovely blog.  She found her recipe in the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving. My Ball book doesn’t have it.  I guess it’s a different version.

so yummy!

It’s pretty too!  See those strands of carrot floating in there.  I think having the rainbow carrots adds a little visual interest to the jam, not that it needs it.

Carrot Cake Jam
Recipe Source: Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving via Just the Right Size
Makes 7 – 8 half pints

1 1/2 cups finely grated carrots
1 1/2 cups chopped cored peeled pears
1 3/4 cups crushed, canned pineapple, including juice
3 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1 package powdered fruit pectin
6 1/2 cups sugar

Combine carrots, pears, pineapple and juice, lemon juice, and spices in a large saucepan and bring to boil. Lower temperature to a simmer and simmer for 20 minutes, stirring frequently.

Add powdered pecting, incorporating well, and bring carrot mixture back to a boil. Add sugar all at once and return back to a full boil, stirring constantly. Boil hard, stirring constantly, for 1 full minute.

Ladle hot jam into prepared jars, leaving 1/4 inch headspace. Process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

my notes:

  • My batch made 8 half pints.
  • I only had whole cloves, so I put 6 in and fished them out just before adding the pectin.
  • I put in about 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • My batch is thick and sticky, not super firm and gel-like
  • This would be yummy as the filling for a thumb print cookie
  • This would be yummy over a block of cream cheese with crackers as a sweet snack at a party
  • This would be yummy in a million different ways
  • –UPDATE– I will add ginger next time I make this.

Make some today!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Aug 28 2010 8:24 pm

    please bring some to your mother thank-you

  2. Mira / Aug 29 2010 9:18 am

    I like the picture on the windowsill with the sun shining in :)

  3. Jessica / Sep 16 2010 5:52 pm

    This jam was amazing! I think it would be good on ham or pork too! Thanks so much for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

