Skip to content
September 2, 2010 / littlefooteslab

Mixer Match

Yesterday evening I had the pleasure of participating in the first ever I Heart Art: Portland Mixer Match.  It was so fun!  I saw crafty friends from the Summit of Awesome, I met new crafty friends, I visited with awesome bloggers and handmade resellers.  It was a great night!

One group I visited with was Handmade in Portland.  These ladies are great, they even included a photo of me with Rebecca in their post about the event.

I didn’t get info for all the people I visited with, it was such a crazy, fast paced night, but I did manage to pick up cards or write down names of shops that I felt I made a good connection with.  You can bet I’ll be in touch wth them soon!

Also, I’d like to give a shout out to a couple new friends: Laura Cooke Ceramics and Cheryl at Tangle Jewlery.  I spent a good amount of time chatting with these fine ladies, I am always so glad to make connections in the crafting community.  We have such a wealth of talent and friendliness, it always amazes me.

I am extra happy today though because last night I actually got a wholesale order!  Yay!  I don’t think there were many orders being made since this was billed as more of a meet and greet and start a connection sort of event with most retailers planning on meeting with crafters again if their goods had potential in their shops.  So, I was beside myself when a retailer said, “Yes, bring in a dozen and we’ll sell them in our shop!”  Yay!  I’ll let you know where to go once they are actually in the shop.  I don’t want to jinx it before all is secured.   ; )    I’m kinda superstitious.  I know it’s silly, but I can’t help it.

I tried to take photos, but my camera just isn’t up to the challenge of low light interior shots with out a flash, and the flash makes it look bad and it’s annoying to all the people in the space, so I only ended up with a couple of shots.  However, the ladies at Handmade in Portland have a bunch in the post I linked to above and there are more over at Etsy’s Mixer Match flicker stream.  I’m sure that’s more than anyone needs.

It was a great event and I really appreciate all the organizing efforts by the I Heart Art: Portland team as  well as the Portland Etsy Team and Etsy for sending out reps from HQ in Brooklyn.

Here I am, ready to tote my samples around to all the buyers.

Pitching to buyers. This is the small half of the room.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bettie Newell / Sep 2 2010 3:17 pm

    It was great meeting you, Katie. Congrats on your success last night (I’m sure there is much more in your future)!

  2. moma / Sep 2 2010 4:24 pm

    very cool!

  3. Sarah Richard / Sep 3 2010 12:10 am

    Wonderful news!! I love your products!

Leave a Reply

