Skip to content
September 16, 2010 / littlefooteslab

pop or soda?

Has this question ever come up amongst your group?  It has for me.  What do you call it? Soda or Pop, or just “coke?”  I call it soda.  My reason being that I call my dad Pop a lot of the time and it is weird to call the beverage the same thing.  Plus, I think there was a phase of my life when I really though it sounded more intelligent to call it soda.  Not pop.  I was a teenager and worried about sounding intelligent.  Now, I just sit around with my mouth open and don’t really care how intelligent I sound or look.  ; )  That may be an exaggeration, but you catch my drift.  I’m over it.  I know I am intelligent whether I call it soda or pop.

But I still call it soda.

I came across this handy little map today on my stroll through the internet. . .

click on map for larger view

  • pop is blue
  • soda is yellow
  • coke is red
  • other is green
  • no data is purple

so. . . Oregon is mostly blue.  Blue equals pop.  I say soda.  . . . . .  harumph.  I guess I’m in the minority on this one.

Can I just say that the whole “coke” title is much more widespread than I though it would be.  I knew it was common in some places, I just didn’t realize that is was AS common.  Interesting.

I think I’ll go have a soda now.

ps What is UP with Alaska?  They’re all over the place!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Sep 16 2010 2:36 pm

    alaska – who can explain it

  2. Molly / Sep 17 2010 6:55 pm

    Alaska = Sarah Palin = Bizarro.

    I say pop, and I call my dad Pops! I also like to say sodeeee pop.

  3. Casey / Sep 19 2010 6:47 pm

    I live in one of the green “other” areas… we say “soder”, sometimes “tonic” … weird.

Leave a Reply

