Skip to content
September 19, 2010 / littlefooteslab

Tomatoes

well.  First I had TEN pounds of tomatoes.

Ten pounds of Early Girls.  Also, there is one tomato in this bunch that I bought at the store.

So I turned it into a bunch of canned crushed tomatoes.  A little taste of summer waiting for me in the middle of winter.

Here is 8 1/2 pints from the ten pounds.  There was one more pint but it opened up in the water bath so it didn’t make it.

Then today I found these. . .

PLus about 5 pounds of ripe ones on my window sill in the kitchen not included in this photo.  The green ones are mostly not quite ripe yet, but they are an heirloom variety that will be ripe when green/yellow, so they’ll be ready soon.  I had to pick them today because the vine uprooted and tipped over despite being staked down in about a million places and being tied to two other structures.  The thing was just TOO HEAVY.  So, ideas anyone?  Fried green tomatoes are definitely on the menu this week.  Plus there’s this green tomato round up that looks promising I’ll let you know if I come up with any breakthroughs.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah Richard / Sep 19 2010 9:26 pm

    I am willing to help eat anything you make with the tomatoes! Especially fried green ones! Grandma BB would be so proud!

    • littlefooteslab / Sep 19 2010 9:32 pm

      That settles it! I’ll channel my inner Grandma BB! : )

  2. moma / Sep 19 2010 10:20 pm

    those are the cutest little pumpkins i have ever seen!

  3. Dan / Sep 21 2010 11:59 am

    I like the green enchalata idea.

    yea spelled it wrong too i think

    • littlefooteslab / Sep 21 2010 3:39 pm

      : ) It’s okay, I know what you meant, and I got he rest of the ingredients for it today, so I think I’ll make it tomorrow. I might even share. : )

Leave a Reply

