Skip to content
November 3, 2010 / littlefooteslab

Jo-Jos

So WAY back in 2007, Sarah and I went to Chicago to visit Sarah. (two Sarahs. I am lucky) We went to a concert while were were there.

The wonderful Nico Case. So good!

Afterwards, Sarah R and I were hungry. Maybe Sarah S was too, I don’t remember. Well, Sarah R and I got it in our heads that what sounded really good. Really really good was Jo-Jos. Not those little previously frozen ones that are really called potato wedges and sometimes called Jo-Jos, but we wanted the good ones. The ones we grew up with. The ones from Waremart, hand cut, dipped in yummy batter, served piping hot with ranch dressing to dip ’em in, crispy, and delicious. That sounded really good to us.

Well.

Apparently, no one in Chicago has ever heard of Jo-jos.

I know.

It’s insane.

So we had a ways to drive after the show. Sarah R and I basically pointed out every place that seemed like it might sell any kind of food and said, “Maybe the White Hen has Jo-Jos” (substitute the appropriate name) I think we might have annoyed the heck out of Sarah S. But, really Chicago. What is a girl to do? Sometimes you just want some Jo-Jos.

I could go for some Jo-Jos now.

(I read a blog post a few minutes ago that mentioned The White Hen, so it instantly reminded me of this fun memory. I wanted to share)

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. moma / Nov 3 2010 11:01 pm

    delightful! mmmm,jo-jos!

  2. Mira / Nov 4 2010 10:32 am

    I lived in Chicago and I have NEVER heard of Jo-Jos.

  3. Sarah Richard / Nov 4 2010 5:44 pm

    I still do not know what the White Hen actually sells, but I think they should sell Jo-Jos!!!

Leave a Reply

